To Kent County

Last Updated :

Dover AFB Welcome to Kent County


Centrally located on the Delmarva Peninsula — short for Delaware, Maryland and Virginia — Kent County covers nearly 798 square miles of Delaware, 26 percent of them water. Kent County is one of only three counties in Delaware, which is less than 2,000 square miles in size. The cities in Kent County include Dover, Harrington, Smyrna and part of Milford. Dover is the county seat and state capital.

Delaware is divided into hundreds, an old English Saxon land division, as directed by its English proprietor and real estate entrepreneur, Quaker William Penn, in the 1680s for taxation and governmental purposes; the hundreds originally served as judicial and legislative districts. Today, there are 33 hundreds in Delaware, nine of them in Kent County.

Of Delaware’s population of 961,939, Kent County accounts for 176,824, according to the 2017 U.S. Census estimates, making it the least-populated county in the state. New Castle County has a population of 559,793, while Sussex County comes in at 225,322.

Kent County offers many attractions along with plenty of history, culture and modern amenities. In addition to its Americana and historic atmosphere, it has museums, country clubs and parks. Outdoor activities abound, including both fresh and saltwater fishing, crabbing, goose and duck hunting, boating and sailing.

There are multiple shopping, dining and nightlife opportunities to explore, and annual events and festivals celebrate everything from Delaware’s history to its wineries and breweries for a taste of East Coast charm.


© 2020 - MARCOA Media