DYESS AFB

Driving and Commuting

Last Updated :

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave.
Austin, TX 78731
www.txdmv.gov


Texas Department of Public Safety
Driver’s License Office in Taylor County
4649 S. First St.
Abilene, TX 79605 325-695-0988, ext. 54237
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday; 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday


Driver’s License
Within 90 days of moving to Texas you must obtain a Texas driver’s license — active-duty military service members, and their spouses and dependents, may drive with a valid driver’s license issued by their home state. The Texas Department of Public Safety issues driver’s licenses. The minimum age for getting a Texas driver’s license is 16 years old.


Adults who hold a valid, unexpired out-of-state driver’s license are exempt from the knowledge and driving tests.

Unexpired licenses must be surrendered when applying for a Texas driver’s license.


You will need the following when you apply for a Texas driver’s license:

  • Documents that verify your identity, Social Security number, U.S. citizenship or lawful presence status, and Texas residency
  • Proof of Texas vehicle registration and liability insurance for all vehicle’s registered in your name
  • Completed “Application for Texas Driver License or Identification Card”
  • Any necessary fees


Registration
Residents of Texas have 30 days to apply for vehicle registration. Active-duty members are not required to register their vehicles in Texas. To register your vehicle and obtain license plates, visit the county tax-assessor collector office. You will need your insurance card, inspection papers and proof of ownership. You are not required to title your vehicle in Texas, but first-time registrants must complete Form 130-U. If the title has a lien, you must complete Form VTR-272.


For more information, visit http://txdmv.gov/motorists/new-to-texas.


Insurance
Automobile liability insurance is required by law in Texas. The minimum limits of liability required under Texas law are: $30,000 for each injured person, $60,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damage.


Vehicle Inspections
Drivers may take their vehicle to any certified Texas Department of Public Safety inspection station. Drivers will need their insurance card.


Texas Department of Transportation
www.txdot.gov 
Visit the Texas Department of Transportation’s website to get information on travel resources, road conditions and to view traffic cameras. Maps and information about commuting options, safety rest areas and interstate highways are also available.

 

 

MILITARY TRUSTED BUSINESSES

© 2019 - MARCOA Media