Last Updated :

Hurlburt Field Honor Guard members present the American Flag during a POW/MIA remembrance ceremony at the Memorial Air Park on Hurlburt Field, Fla.


Established at Hurlburt Field, Fla., on May 22, 1990, AFSOC is a major command and the Air Force component of U.S. Special Operations Command, a unified command located at MacDill Air Force Base, Fla.

AFSOC is America's specialized air power, delivering Special Operations power anytime, anywhere. AFSOC is responsible to U.S. Special Operations Command for the readiness of Air Force special operations forces in the conduct of the War on Terrorism to disrupt, defeat and destroy terrorist networks that threaten the United States, its citizens and interests worldwide.

AFSOC responsibilities include Shaping and Stability Operations, Battlefield Air Operations, Information Operations, Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance (ISR), SOF Mobility, Precision Engagement, Agile Combat Support. The command's special operations forces are comprised of highly trained, rapidly deployable Airmen who are equipped with highly specialized aircraft.

AFSOC is responsible to USSOCOM for the readiness of Air Force SOF for worldwide deployment. These forces provide global ability to conduct special operations missions ranging from precision application of firepower, to infiltration, exfiltration, resupply and refueling of SOF operational elements.

AFSOC's unique capabilities include airborne radio and television broadcasts for psychological operations, as well as combat aviation advisors to provide other governments with military expertise for their internal development. The command's special tactics squadrons combine combat control, special operations weather and pararescuemen to ensure air power is integrated and operable with other special operations and conventional forces.

AFSOC has more than 14,800 active duty, Air Force Reserve, Air National Guard and civilian personnel. The command's four active duty and five Reserve component flying units are composed of more than 130 fixed-wing, rotarywing and tilt-rotor aircraft, including the AC-130H/U, C-130, EC-130, MC- 130E/H/P/W variants, MH-53 helicopter and CV-22, PC-12 and U-28. Forces are organized under two active duty wings, one Reserve wing and one Air National Guard wing, two overseas groups and several direct reporting units. The command operates two major active duty bases, Hurlburt Field and Cannon Air Force Base, N.M.


© 2020 - MARCOA Media