Fort Drum Community
Children in Seat Belts
Every child under age 16 in the vehicle must use a safety restraint. If under age 4, he or she must be properly secured in a federally approved child safety seat that is attached to a vehicle by a safety belt or universal child restraint anchorage (LATCH) system.
A child under age 4 who weighs more than 40 pounds may be restrained in a booster seat with a lap and shoulder belt. A child of age 4, 5, 6 or 7 must use a booster seat with lap and shoulder belt or a child safety seat.
Exception: A child more than 4 feet 9 inches tall or more than 100 pounds is allowed to use a seat belt that has both a lap belt and a shoulder harness. To use the seat belt, the child must be able to sit straight up against the vehicle’s seat back with his or her knees bent comfortably over the edge of the seat. The lap belt should be placed low and tight across the upper thighs; the shoulder belt should rest tightly but comfortably across the child’s chest and shoulder without touching the throat. If the seat belt does not fit properly, the child should use a booster seat.
A booster seat can be used only with a lap and shoulder belt together. If all the combination lap and shoulder belt positions in the vehicle are already occupied by children using child safety seats or booster seats, a child who ordinarily would use a booster seat should be restrained using only the lap belt.
An appropriate child safety restraint system: Is required for all children until their 8th birthday, and must meet the size and weight requirements for the child based on the federal requirements and the recommendations of the manufacturer, and can be a child safety seat, a harness, a vest or a booster seat attached with the vehicle seat belt or latch system, but not the vehicle seat belt alone, and should not be used in the front seat of the vehicle.
For more information, visit https://dmv.ny.gov.
Under New York state law you cannot use a mobile telephone or electronic device while you drive. Illegal activity includes holding a portable electronic device and:
- Talking on a handheld mobile telephone.
- Composing, sending, reading, accessing, browsing, transmitting, saving or retrieving electronic data such as e-mail, text messages or webpages.
- Viewing, taking or transmitting images.
- Playing games.
If you use a portable electronic device while you drive (except to call 911 or to contact medical, fire or police personnel about an emergency), you can receive a traffic ticket and be subject to a fine and a surcharge.
Conviction of a cell phone use, portable electronic device use or a texting violation will also result in points being added to your DMV driving record. If you receive 11 points in an 18 month period, your driver license may be suspended. To learn more, visit https://dmv.ny.gov/tickets/about-nys-driver-point-system.
The installation speed limit is 25 mph unless otherwise posted. The speed limit is 10 mph when passing Soldiers and pedestrians at all times.
Per New York state law, headlights must be turned on when windshield wipers are used due to inclement weather (rain or snow).
There is a mandatory motorcycle safety training (Motorcycle Safety Foundation, or MSF Card) requirement before being allowed to ride or register a motorcycle on post. Service members must attend the MSF Rider Course before operating a motorcycle or moped on or off post, on or off duty, regardless of whether the motorcycle or moped is registered. DOD civilians must complete the course before riding or registering a motorcycle or moped on a government installation.
Riders must wear the following equipment:
- Department of Transportation-approved helmet properly fastened under the chin.
- Eye protection.
- Over-the-ankle shoes or boots.
- A high-visibility reflective garment or device (the yellow safety belt used for PT is acceptable).
Each motorcycle must be registered and insured. Each driver must, at a minimum, have a learner’s permit or motorcycle license. All motorcycles must be able to pass New York state inspection. New York State also requires permit-holders to be escorted by a licensed driver or arrive with bikes in tow.
Contact the Command Safety Office for more information, 315-772-5352.
Off-Road, Recreational Vehicles
Fort Drum Regulation 420-3, Hunting, Fishing, Trapping and Camping, outlines the use of snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles on Fort Drum. Recreational use of snowmobiles is allowed on Fort Drum only in training areas 7E, 7F and 7G. Recreational use of ATVs on Fort Drum can only occur on designated recreational roads around training areas 7E, 7F and 7G.
There are exceptions for trapping, ice fishing, retrieving legally harvested big game and disabled access; see Fort Drum Regulation 420-3 for more information. A valid Fort Drum recreation permit and access pass are required to recreate on Fort Drum. See Fort Drum Regulation 420-3 for more information or visit http://fortdrum.isportsman.net.
In areas surrounding Fort Drum, off-road vehicles on roads under the jurisdiction of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation were closed effective April 15, 2008. A list of the roads closed to off-road vehicles can be found at www.dec.ny.gov.
Anyone riding a bicycle, skateboarding or inline skating on post must wear a safety helmet in accordance with Fort Drum Regulation 190-2. Off post, however, New York state law requires only that all children under the age of 14 wear a helmet when riding a bicycle.
Parking is prohibited where it impedes the flow of traffic, especially within 20 feet of any entrance of a fire station, crosswalk or intersection. Parking is prohibited on the side of the road facing oncoming traffic.
There is no parking on grassy or seeded areas, unless specifically authorized by Public Works or the Garrison Commander. That may occur November through April, if overflow parking areas are not provided or are full. If vehicles are parked on seeded areas and there is damage, vehicle owners are responsible for reseeding or repairing the area.
There is no parking in fire lanes, within 15 feet of any building or fire hydrant, on sidewalks and railroad tracks, or on roadways in any housing complex from November through April to allow for snow removal.
Privately Owned Weapons
In New York it is a criminal offense, punishable by a year in jail and a $1,000 fine, to possess a privately owned handgun in your residence, vehicle or on your person unless you have been issued a New York state pistol permit. The only exception is for unloaded antique and replica muzzle-loading pistols and cap-and-ball revolvers.
Handguns may be brought to Fort Drum from an overseas assignment if they are shipped with household goods or hold baggage shipment as authorized by AR 55-71, Chapter 13. However, upon arrival to Fort Drum, handgun owners must contact the police at 315-772-7770/7771 and let them know handguns are coming. When the shipment arrives, notify the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Department at 315-786-2711. Provide them with the weapon’s information and follow their instructions. Until they are properly registered, handguns must be stored in unit arms rooms.
The New York Safe Act requires the registration of all assault weapons. There is a requirement to register all firearms on Fort Drum These weapons are not allowed in temporary lodging.