More Things You Should Know
Soldiers PCSing to Fort Hood can call IHG Army Hotels, Holiday Inn Express and Candlewood Suites, 254-532-5157, 254-532-8233 or 877-711-8326 for reservations. Due to large number of personnel in an official status, reservations are recommended. There are two locations available suited to different lodging requirements. All facilities are nonsmoking. Hot breakfast is provided at each property. Each Wednesday, the hotel hosts a cookout for all guests of the hotels on post. The Candlewood Suites is a 144-unit facility with full kitchens for the service member with a Family or those service members requiring extended stay.
IHG Army Hotels, Holiday Inn Express and Candlewood Suites are available to all personnel at Fort Hood who can gain entry to the installation. For rates and registration information, you may visit the IHG Army Hotels site at www.ihg.com/armyhotels.
Holiday Inn Express, Candlewood Suites and IHG Army Hotels provide hotel accommodations comparable to the local economy. Facilities are pet-friendly. Nonrefundable pet fees will apply. Pet vaccination records must be provided at check-in. Check-in time is 4 p.m. Check-out time is 11 a.m. the day of departure. Late check-out may be prearranged with the front desk.
Guest services and amenities include free hot breakfast, Wednesday night social and courtesy shuttle available 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. Express check-out is available upon request. Fax service, fitness center, tennis and basketball court, Keith Ware Hall. Ice and vending machines, Keith Ware Hall. Free laundry facilities. Community kitchens in family areas, Poxon Guest House. Electronic card key locks, guest voicemail, high-speed internet access in all guest rooms, free local calls, in-room coffeemaker with complimentary coffee. Lending Locker, Candlewood Suites. Refrigerators and microwaves in each guest room, Keith Ware Hall. Flat-screen television with cable/HBO, in-room iron and ironing board. Pool in main hotel, Keith Ware Hall at both properties. Cupboard open 24/7 Keith Ware Hall both locations. Daily maid service provided, in-room amenities include soap, shampoo and conditioner. Business centers in Keith Ware Hall.
Payment is required in advance or presentation of valid credit card upon check-in. Credit cards accepted are Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express. Credit card authorization will be processed for payment every seven days. Guests paying with cash must be current daily by 11 a.m.
The legal limit for driving while intoxicated in Texas is 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration. Texas also has a zero tolerance law. For anyone under 21, it is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol. Seat belt use is mandatory both on post and in the State of Texas.
Soldiers must wear a helmet while operating a motorcycle on and off post. A Soldier who does not have a state-issued driver’s license can obtain one from Texas. Requirements and information on obtaining a Texas driving license can be found online at www.dps.texas.gov.
Using a cellphone without a hands-free device is prohibited on post.
All dogs and cats, 4 months and older, must be registered with the veterinary facility within one week of arrival and annually thereafter. Pit bulls are not permitted on post.
Active-duty military are not required to have a Texas driver’s license. If a Texas driver’s license is needed, Soldiers and Family members can obtain driver’s licenses at the Leath Visitors Center or at the Bell County Annex at 301 and 302 Priest Drive in Killeen. Three forms of identification are needed for a Texas driver’s license or Texas identification card. Active-duty military will only need their military identification card. In Copperas Cove, the facility is in the Coryell County Annex at 201 S. Second St.
Texas charges a 6.25 percent motor vehicle sales tax on the purchase price of the vehicle titled in Texas and owned by Texas residents. New residents pay $90 to title their vehicles in Texas, if needed.
Regardless of status or home of record, the state requires vehicles to have Texas minimum liability insurance of $25,000 bodily injury per person, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $25,000 for property damage. Drivers have 30 days after moving to Texas to change their vehicle insurance coverage.
Seat belts are required at all times while driving on post; infant car seats are required; the minimum amount of liability insurance is required; and parking of motor vehicles is authorized only in those areas/spaces designated for parking. Speed limit on Fort Hood is 30 mph unless otherwise posted.
An owner must bring current proof of out-of-state registration, if applicable; the lien holder’s name and address; proof of insurance and the “green slip”; or valid Texas inspection slip. Regardless of status of home of record, the state requires vehicles to have Texas minimum liability insurance. Contact the Bell County Vehicle Registration Office at 254-618-4180 for guidelines regarding insurance, tax rates and fees.
Under Fort Hood’s Motorcycle Safety Policy, there is a requirement to show a valid Motorcycle Safety Course card when entering the installation. This card must be shown each time you enter the post when operating a motorcycle. This requirement ensures all riders are properly trained and licensed on the vehicle they are riding and that only trained personnel ride on post.
All service members, Family members who reside on post or anyone who enters the Fort Hood installation with a firearm must register the firearms with the Directorate of Emergency Services.
Privately owned weapons registration is completed on a Fort Hood Form 190-19 (dated October 2015) in accordance with Fort Hood Regulation 190-11. A stamped copy of the registration must accompany the weapons any time they are removed from storage and transported on Fort Hood. All color copies of FH Form 190-19 (white, yellow and pink) are acceptable at installation access control points. Registration can be accomplished at the Marvin Leath Visitors Center or the DES headquarters, Building 23020. A replacement copy of your FH Form 190-19 can only be obtained from the DES Crime Records Branch in Building 23020, Room 103. Weapons registration forms will expire four years from the date of registration.
Newly arrived Soldiers will be granted a 10-day temporary firearm registration at the Visitors Center.
All personnel will declare any weapons they are transporting when entering post through an ACP, stopped by Department of the Army civilian police or military police or upon inspection by ACP gate guards on the installation.
Privately owned weapons not brought onto the installation are not required to be registered with the DES.
The Texas License to Carry Handgun Law does not apply on Fort Hood. Concealed and open carry handguns are prohibited on post. All military registrants must have their commander’s signature on the registration form prior to registration at the DES or the Visitors Center.
During transportation, firearms must be unloaded and secured in the trunk or out of immediate reach of all occupants and must be declared to the gate guards when entering the installation. If you have a privately owned weapon in your possession when obtaining a visitor pass at the Visitors Center, DO NOT approach the gate; transport the weapon off the installation prior to your visit. Under no circumstances will a firearm, club or illegal knife be carried within arm’s reach of any passenger of the vehicle. All weapons, not including common pocket knives, multitools or similar, should be carried in the trunk or an immediately inaccessible area of the vehicle.
Illegal knives are defined as any knife with a blade more than 5½ inches and/or double-edged. This also includes any hand instrument that is designed to cut, stab or throw, such as daggers, dirks, stilettos, poniard, Bowie knives, swords and spears. This definition does not apply to household utensils and other similar items when used for their intended purpose such as kitchen knives, ice picks, scissors, meat cleavers, carpet knives, woodworking tools or tomahawks. These items may also be exempt when used for ceremonial or sporting purposes. The important difference is a 10-inch butcher’s knife in a kitchen is acceptable; however, the same knife in the console of a vehicle is prohibited. For a complete list of prohibited weapons see Fort Hood Regulation 190-11.
The average rainfall for the Killeen-Fort Hood Regional Airport is 31.26 inches. Most precipitation (more than 3 inches per month) occurs May through June and during October. January sees the least amount of precipitation. The average temperature is 67 degrees, with the mean range 38 degrees to 94 degrees.
It’s hot and dry in Fort Hood during the summer. Take care to prevent heat-related injuries. It takes up to two weeks to become adequately acclimatized. Drink plenty of fluids before and during heavy activity or while on exercises. Don’t wait until you get thirsty. Your body feels less thirsty the more dehydrated you get, although you need more fluid. Avoid fluids that contain alcohol, caffeine or sugar. There isn’t much shade, so wear protective clothing that reduces the skin’s exposure to the sun.
Fort Hood has a mass communication emergency system. During emergencies, a loud siren tone will sound followed by a message describing the emergency with immediate instructions to follow. More information will also be available as soon as possible on radio and television. Information on post closures, driving conditions and weather will be available on the Fort Hood website at www.hood.army.mil, the Fort Hood Press Center at www.forthoodpresscenter.com and at www.facebook.com/forthood. The weather alert hotline number is 254-287-6700. Callers will hear a recorded message about when, or if, to report to work during bad weather events.
Flash floods can happen quickly in Texas. Seek high ground immediately. Do not cross roadways with standing water. Do not allow children to play near water.
Tornadoes occur in all 50 states, but the Midwest and Southeast are the most vulnerable. Tornadoes are nature’s most violent storms and can leave an area devastated in seconds. They may first appear as a pale tube, which turns black after it touches the ground and begins picking up debris. Objects as large and heavy as railroad cars have been picked up and deposited hundreds of feet away. The spinning, twisting funnel contains winds with speeds that may approach 300 miles per hour. They usually occur in April, May and June.
There are two types of tornado threats: a tornado watch and a tornado warning. A watch is given when weather conditions are favorable for the formation of tornadoes. During a tornado watch, keep an eye on the weather. If you see any revolving funnel-shaped clouds, report them to the police department, sheriff’s office or dial 911. Listen for weather updates and be prepared to take shelter immediately. A tornado warning indicates a tornado has been sighted or spotted on radar. Warnings will give the location of the tornado sighting and the area immediately affected by the warning. Seek shelter immediately.