Hurlburt Field Community
Cost of living
Fort Walton Beach and its surrounding areas are high tourist destinations and therefore cost of living is high, and traffic congestion is very severe during the peak summer months. However, home prices have decreased due to the struggling economy, and rentals are readily available.
Average rental prices, depending on closeness to the base, range from $850- $1,150 a month for a 3/2 home; and $1,100- $1,500 a month for a 4/2 home. Average home prices are around $140- $180K for a 3/2, 1600 sq. ft. home. The home prices are generally between $200- $260K for a 4/2, 1900–2350 sq. ft. home.
Renter — Whether renting community housing or living on-base, it is highly recommended that all personnel who are not purchasing their home obtain a renters insurance policy to protect their personal property.
Auto — Every Florida resident operating a motor vehicle in Florida must have insurance that complies with the Florida “No Fault” Law. This requirement also applies to nonresident owners or registrants of motor vehicles physically present within the state for more than 90 of the preceding 365 days. The minimum required insurance coverage is $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) per person plus property damage/liability coverage in the minimum amount of $10,000. For more information regarding Florida’s insurance laws, call 1-800-342-2762.
All motor vehicles in Florida must be registered and/or titled within 10 days of moving to Florida. The county tax collector, as agent for the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, processes registrations and titles, and collects the fees. Members of the U.S. armed forces stationed in Florida, but who maintain their legal residence outside of Florida, are classified as nonresident military and are eligible for lower registration fees. To qualify for the lower military nonresident rates, the owner must submit a copy of military orders & proof of FL insurance.
Military members who file for nonresident status on a vehicle will not be eligible to file for a $25,000 homestead exemption in Florida. Call the property appraiser’s office, 850- 651-7240, for information.
It is strongly recommended that you obtain a letter of credit from your current utility companies prior to your move to avoid paying a deposit when connecting your utilities at the new location. If not, you can accomplish a Gulf Power deposit waiver at the housing office before signing up for their service. Monthly utility bills are high, as this is a high temperature and very high humidity area- averaging $180-250 per month for a typical home.