NAS Jacksonville Community
If you are on active duty, you may drive in Florida without getting a Florida driver’s license if you hold a valid license from your home of record. Florida does have a special reduced auto registration fee for drivers who do not intend to establish Florida as their home of record. To get the reduced rate, take a copy of your orders to a local tag agency. For more information, call 904-630-1916 for the tax collector’s office (car tag) and 850-922-9000 for the Department of Motor Vehicles for title and registration information.
Florida Motor Vehicle Insurance Laws
Both the Financial Responsibility Law and the No-Fault Law require insurance coverage. Minimum coverage required is $10,000 bodily injury liability, $20,000 bodily injury to two or more persons, $10,000 property damage liability or $30,000 combined single limits. To protect yourself and others, carry liability insurance on any vehicle you own or drive, including motorcycles. The vehicle must be insured at the time the vehicle is registered in your name, even if the car is inoperable or in storage. If you cancel your insurance, you must surrender your tag and registration to the nearest driver’s license office.
Pass & ID Office
Decals are no longer required on personal vehicles, however there must be a valid military ID card holder in the vehicle, and all others must present a valid U.S. picture ID card. Passes for visitors and badges will be issued at Building 9 at the NAS Jacksonville Main Yorktown gate 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday. Visitors must be sponsored by a CAC cardholder and provide a driver’s license, current registration and insurance card to obtain a pass. One-day passes will be issued at the gate when the Pass and ID Office is not open.