NS Norfolk Community

NS Norfolk
Submarine Force Atlantic Sailor of the Year Winners Announcement

Submarine Force Atlantic Sailor of the Year Winners Announcement

Story by PO2 Sarah E Horne on 02/01/2019

NORFOLK, Va. The 2018 Submarine Force Atlantic Sailors of the Year (SOY) for sea and shore command were announced January 31, 2019.
The winners were recognized by Force Master Chief John Perrryman during a ceremony held at the historic Pennsylvania House on Naval Station Norfolk.

“It makes me extraordinarily proud to be a Force Master Chief for such a committed and professional group of Sailors,” said Perryman. “While it’s only six Sailors that get to come up here, I think they’re a very strong representation of enlisted Sailors in the submarine force.”

In 1972, Admiral Elmo Zumwalt initiated the Navy-wide Sailor of the Year program to provide recognition to the Navy’s outstanding Sailors through numerous presentations, awards, and ultimately, for our senior Sailor’s: Meritorious Advancement to the rank of Chief Petty Officer.

The Sailors that competed for Submarine-Atlantic (SUBLANT) Sea SOY were, Missile Technician 1st Class Cody Arabie, a native of Rayne, La., assigned to USS Alaska (SSBN 732) (Blue); Machinist’s Mate (Auxiliary) 1st Class Stephen Fuhr, a native of London, Ky., assigned to USS San Juan (SSN 751); and Machinist’s Mate (Nuclear) 1st Class Bradley Rumann, a native of Loon Lake, Wash., assigned to USS Columbus (SSN 762).

Competing for SUBLANT Shore SOY were, Damage Controlman 1st Class Monique Carswell, a native of Los Angeles, Calif., assigned to Naval Submarine Support Facility (NSSF) New London; Machinist’s Mate (Nuclear) 1st Class Justin Kent, a native of Chattanooga, Tenn., assigned to Submarine Squadron Six; and Logistics Specialist 1st Class Samantha Mincey, assigned to Trident Refit Facility (TRF) Kings Bay.

All candidates participated in a series of camaraderie building activities leading up to the ceremony including a welcome reception, an area-command SOY luncheon, mentoring briefs and some friendly competition at Topgolf.

“It was really nice to spend time with the other Sailor of the Years and getting to know them,” said Fuhr. “Everyone here earned SOY and it definitely shows. I’m very glad for the opportunity to be here as well.”
To be selected, SUBLANT SOY candidates completed a formal interview sat by four Master Chiefs who have been qualified as Chief of the Boat or as Command Master Chief, one retired Master Chief, and one retired Captain.

During the announcement ceremony, COMSUBLANT Command Master Chief Adam Burchette said, “We are here to recognize sustained superior performance, deckplate leadership, self-improvement, command impact and genuine care and concern for our Sailors. That is what these superb Sailors bring to the submarine force.”

This year’s winners for SUBLANT Sea SOY was MMA1 Stephen Fuhr, and the winner for SUBLANT Shore SOY was DC1 Monique Carswell.
Perryman concluded with a job well done’ for Fuhr and Carswell’s achievement and included that the submarine force is grateful for leaders like them and future leaders.

“Although we can only bring six Sailors up here, I don’t want any of the other Sailors in the submarine force to lose sight of the fact that Vice Admiral Richard and I are particularly proud of the effort and dedication they show every day, and ensure the United States Submarine Force stays the best Submarine Force in the world,” Perryman said.

Related Posts
Call of Duty EndowmentCall of Duty Endowment
The first Call of Duty Endowment Bowl would go to the U.S. Army, but it wouldn’t take long…
2022 military gifts guide2022 military gifts guide
No matter which end-of-the-year holiday you celebrate, it’s coming up fast. And something that’s part of nearly every…
military mental health stigmamilitary mental health stigma
Mental health plays a big part in the way a person acts and behaves. Having good mental health…