Scott AFB Community
Locally, the entire 911 system is governed by the Illinois Commerce Commission and is fully integrated with the St. Clair County emergency 911 system. The 911 system can be dialed from any base, commercial or public pay telephone and is answered at the law enforcement desk. Scott uses the “Enhanced 911” system, which automatically displays the originating caller’s identity, home address and telephone number to the dispatcher. If the caller cannot speak, the dispatcher will immediately dispatch a patrol to investigate the call. Once connected, the first statement a caller should make is: “This is a (medical, police, fire) emergency.” The 911 dispatcher has the ability to transfer calls to the appropriate agency. After connecting to the dispatcher, do not hang up until directed to do so by the dispatcher or the responding on-scene patrol. Use of the 911 system is authorized when a potential threat to life, limb, eyesight or property occurs and requires an immediate response from one or more public safety agencies. Misuse of the 911 service is a punishable offense under Illinois law.
All juveniles, 16 years of age and under, must be accompanied by an adult 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. Sunday through Thursday and midnight to 6 a.m. Friday and Saturday. The state of Illinois also recognizes that it is unlawful for parents or legal guardians to allow adolescents under the age of 17 to consciously violate the Illinois Juvenile Curfew Law.
Illinois law states any minor under the age of 14 whose parent or other person responsible for the minor’s welfare leaves the minor without supervision for an unreasonable period of time, without regard for the mental or physical health, safety, or welfare of that minor, may be charged with child neglect. Children 4 years of age or under and not exceeding 50 pounds must be protected in a child safety restraint (provided by the parent) while being transported in a motor vehicle, except in cases of medical emergency.
RULES OF THE ROAD
Unless otherwise posted, the speed limit on base is 30 mph. Housing areas are 15 mph.
When drivers are detained for suspected driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, security forces will request they perform a field sobriety test. Upon failure or denial of this test, the suspect will be asked to submit to a medical examination of their breath, blood, urine or a combination of the three. Suspects refusing these tests automatically lose driving privileges for 12 months. The legal intoxication limit is a 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration on and off base. Take note that you can also be charged with a DUI if your blood alcohol concentration is 0.05 and you show signs of impairment.
At times, security forces personnel will be posted at busy intersections to aid the flow of traffic. When posted, the hand and arm signals of a security forces patrol person directing traffic ALWAYS override any traffic lights or traffic signs.
Vehicle operators are prohibited from using a cellular device while driving, without the use of a hands-free device. Failure to comply with this rule may result in suspension of base driving privileges.
OFF-BASE VEHICLES REGISTRATION
Military members stationed at Scott do not have to register their automobiles in Illinois as long as their home state vehicle registration remains valid. There are no restrictions if nonresident service members prefer to register their vehicles in Illinois. Registration forms are available at the Department of Motor Vehicles, 400 W. Main St., Belleville, or on base at the Scott Credit Union, Building 1950, for annual renewals only. Out-of-state service members residing in Illinois who have a valid driver’s license from their home state need not obtain an Illinois license as long as theirs remains valid. This law also applies to family members of the service member.
The Shiloh and Belleville gates are the main installation entry points. A current, valid military identification card is required. During normal operations, visitors accessing the installation with a sponsor who possesses a DOD-approved credential do not require a visitor’s pass. The Belleville Gate is closed 10 p.m. to 5:30 a.m.
The Dixon Visitor Control Center outside the Shiloh Gate offers visitor passes, contractor passes and Defense Biometrics Identification System registration. DBIDS registration is required for all common access card-holding personnel, retirees and family members. The VCC is open 6 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday. It is closed Sunday and federal holidays.
Should a visitor’s pass be required, the visitor must have a valid photo ID (compliant with the Real ID Act) and an authorized sponsor. Visitor passes may be requested by an authorized sponsor electronically from a .mil computer. Contact the Dixon Visitor Control Center at 618-256-2008.
The Commercial Vehicle Inspection Station is open 6 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday through Friday for commercial delivery vehicles, large contractor vehicles and oversized vehicles only. The station is closed weekends and most federal holidays. When the gate is closed, commercial vehicles access the base through the Shiloh Gate’s oversized vehicle lane and will be searched.
Scott AFB 31-1, Antiterrorism and Integrated Defense Plan, establishes the policy on registration of privately owned firearms on base. Storage of privately owned firearms is prohibited in distinguished visitor quarters, visiting airmen quarters, temporary lodging facilities and dormitories. People residing in these locations are required to register their weapons with the 375th Security Forces Squadron and store the weapons in the security forces armory.
Persons who lawfully own a privately owned firearm are authorized to transport their weapon on base, using the following transport method. The weapon will be completely unloaded and stored in a locked container. A “locked container” includes a lockable glove box or center console, the trunk of a car, a locked firearm carrying box, a locked shipping box or other locked container. At NO time will the firearm be loaded or carried on your person while on the installation. If stopped by security forces, you must notify the officer that you are in possession of a firearm.
Persons who possess a Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act credential are allowed to carry a concealed weapon on Scott AFB, with the exception of “No Gun Zones,” to include: medical facilities, restricted areas and any facility marked with a “No Firearms Allowed” sign. Privately owned firearms must be stored in a locked container if entering one of these facilities (firearms do not need to be unloaded). All LEOSA credential holders must be registered with the 375th Security Forces Squadron before they are authorized to carry. Contact 618-256-6157 to register.