Camp Lejeune Community
Services Provided: All North Carolina vehicles must be inspected within 10 days following registration. Vehicles must show an inspection sticker as evidence of this inspection. All 1996 and newer gasoline-powered vehicles registered in an emissions county are required to receive the On Board Diagnostics (OBD II) emissions test. Numerous garages and service stations offer this service. The cost of an emissions inspection is $30.00 and the safety inspection is $13.60 plus any necessary parts. Services are also provided by the Fort Bragg’s Auto Skills Center.
Vehicle registration is no longer required on Fort Bragg.
Location: Eutaw Shopping Center, Fayetteville
Location: Hope Mills Shopping Plaza, Hope Mills
Location: Spring Lake Shopping Plaza, Spring Lake
Hours of Operation:
Closed Federal holidays
Services Provided: The North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires automobile owners to have liability insurance coverage before registering your car in NC. State law requires that you register your vehicle within 30 days of establishing residence in the state. The DMV also recommends replacement of your driver’s license at that time. North Carolina plates are only good if you hold continuous insurance. Should your insurance lapse at any time your license plate must be surrendered to the DMV. To re-license your vehicle, you must pay a $25.00 fee in addition to the cost of the license plate. To obtain NC license tags, you must have:
- Insurance (name and policy number). If new policy, name of agent and agency.
- Title (in owner’s name) or properly reassigned to them. If the bank holds your title, you must have current registration and name and address of bank.
- If you came from a non-title state, you need the current registration and 2 notarized copies of the bill of sale from the last two owners.